top of page
Search
  • Sallie Rodriguez

Four lessons I've learned from the women of Game of Thrones

WARNING: SERIOUS SPOILERS FOR ALL SEASONS OF GAME OF THRONES. DON’T SAY WE DIDN’T WARN YOU…

Dragons, questionable romances and epic battles. What do all of these have in common? The badass women of Game of Thrones, of course.


In honour of the show’s finale this coming Monday, here are four things I’ve learned from the leading ladies of Game of Thrones (GOT).


But firstly, I have to preface this by saying that I did not read the books (I know, I’m sorry!). I have become a fan through watching the TV series only so this is purely based off my experience watching the show. I’d love to know what lessons you got out of GOT (especially if you read the books!) in the comments below.


STAY RESILIENT



The women of Game of Thrones have gone through some of the most horrible experiences ever portrayed on screen. Despite this, a majority have managed to persevere and come out stronger than ever.


Look at Sansa Stark. She remained steadfast and resilient throughout her time with the likes of King Joffrey and Ramsay Bolton, rising through the pain and eventually getting the justice she deserved.


The once naive and gentle girl in the earlier seasons has over time turned into a woman of strength, influence and power.

Sansa’s journey reminds me to keep my head up through life’s challenges no matter what it throws at you.


A WOMAN BELONGS ANYWHERE SHE WANTS TO BE.



Fiercely loyal and forthright, Brienne of Tarth has proven time and time again that she belongs on the battlefield and can hold her own, despite what others think.


Brienne survived some of the toughest conflicts in GOT history because she was at the front line leading the charge. Better still, she’s remained true to herself and has never let anything or anyone get in the way of her honour and character.


Similarly, Lyanna Mormont’s unwavering determination to defend the North has made her one of the most inspiring heroes of the show. For so long women have been pigeonholed. It’s so empowering to see badass female characters go against the grain in the most epic fashion.


BE TRUE TO YOURSELF AND WHO YOU ARE



As a young girl who wanted to play with swords instead of talk about boys and marriage, Arya Stark’s narrative has always been underpinned by determination, independence and bravery.


Instead of conforming to social norms, she leaned in and embraced who she is despite the hardships that came with it. Because of this, she was able to take on the challenging yet necessary path that made her the many-faced assassin we know and love today.


While being true to yourself does take a lot of time and effort, Arya’s journey has inspired me to sit down and really think about who I am and how I can be more comfortable in my own skin.


HAVE FAITH IN YOURSELF




From Cersei Lannister and Daenerys Targaryen to Olenna Tyrell and Yara Greyjoy, a common thread amongst all the women of GOT is having faith in themselves.


Through eight seasons, we’ve seen these strong female characters have more influence and power than their male counterparts. We’ve had queens fighting for the Iron Throne instead of kings, women in combat alongside men and so on.


The female characters of GOT showed me that an unwavering belief in yourself can be powerful enough to take on any challenge and achieve your dreams.



FINAL THOUGHTS



A series like GOT only comes around once in a generation. Gripping the hearts of millions of viewers, it’s great to see that a show of this magnitude portrays women as powerful, tenacious and complex individuals.


The lessons I’ve learned from watching the women of GOT will definitely stay with me for a very long time and I hope that it’s also had a positive effect on others as it did for me.


So, my fellow GOT fans, let’s brace ourselves for the show’s final episode this coming Monday. In the meantime, you can find me in my room, furiously reading all the fan theories and prophecies until the cows come home. Ahh, the things I do for love.



Published in HerCanberra

Comments


bottom of page