top of page
Search
  • Sallie Rodriguez

VIDEO REVIEW: Adele — ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’





Adele has yet again graced the world with a music video for ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’, which debuted a few days ago at the 2016 Billboard Music Awards. Patrick Daughters, who has directed music videos for Muse, Kings of Leon and Yeah Yeah Yeahs, did a stellar job of interpreting the themes of ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’ to create a music video that is simple, emotional and downright beautiful.


In the beginning, we see Adele in a floral dress, standing confidently with her hand on her hip, showing that she means serious business. As the song builds and she sings “you set me free,” we see layers upon layers of Adele dancing around and jamming out to the chorus. Her flowy dress and the overlaying of footage gives the music video a ghostly and ethereal quality, as if with every word sung, Adele is releasing her old emotional baggage and moving on to greater things.


There is no denying that Adele’s songs and music videos have always been emotional. However, unlike her past music videos such as Hello and ‘Rolling in the Deep’, ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’ is truly just Adele. We see her in her simplest and most vulnerable, with no storyline or crazy visuals to take the audience away from the music. Simply put, what we see is a woman letting go of her troubles by dancing to some good music.  Perhaps this also rings true to Adele as a performer. She has never been one for crazy stage antics or costume changes, and I think that her music speaks to people best when it’s stripped back and raw, just like her incredible NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert from 2011.


The audience catches glimpses of how much Adele has grown since 19 when watching ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’. My favourite part in is seeing Adele’s face when she sings “Baby I’m still rising.” I think that this line oozes confidence and sass that we haven’t seen from her before.


To be honest, when I first read the title of this song, I thought it would be a slow, gut-wrenching ballad. But boy, was I glad to be wrong. ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’ is a feel good song, and the combination of Adele’s amazing vocals and her pretty damn good dance moves makes me want to dance along with her too.



Written for: Wickedd Childd 

Comments


bottom of page